The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

Hi, everyone!

Today’s post is all about the book that I just recently finished reading, which is “The Thousandth Floor.” It’s a young adult science fiction, and it’s written by Katharine McGee. I got this book because the cover looked very tempting, as I was running my eyes through the bookshelves in the bookshop. The description was also well-written and left me wondering about the story.

The story concentrates on the lives of characters with very different problems. Even though they’re all connected in some way. The events take place in New York City in the year of 2118. There’s a thousand-storey futuristic tower built, where a variety of people live. Higher the floor, richer the society, who lives there. On the highest floor lives Avery Fuller, who is genetically-designed by her parents. She has almost everything in her life but the one she truly loves. Leda, whose Avery’s best friend, wants to take Avery’s true love away, not even knowing that she’s hurting her best friend by doing that. On the other hand, there are other characters, who are also facing their own obstacles in life. In the end, all the events come together into one big and serious issue.

At first, as I was just starting with this book, I was a bit disappointed. I’d a totally different vision of this book but as I was reading, I found out that the story is really addictive, and leaves you wanting to know more. As the story progressed, so did my interest towards it. The futuristic setting gave the story an unique twist. This book really reminded me of the TV series Pretty Little Liers. With all the drama, lies and betrayals, which were constantly taking place in the story.

I also enjoyed the way the author made each character’s story stand out. It almost felt like I was reading different books at once. There were a few places in the book, which made me wonder if the situation could’ve been solved differently. Just the way some of those events occurred seemed like they were forced, rather than happening naturally.

All in together, I must say that the book was a real page-turner for me, and I really enjoyed reading it. The author did an awesome job by creating this new futuristic world in which she also managed to corporate all the drama. It isn’t a type of book I would reach for usually but it was nice to read something different for a change. I would recommend this book for someone, who enjoys watching chick flicks, or has an interest in futuristic novels.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

  1. Lovely review! I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed this book and each of the characters’ stories 🙂 I have that book on my TBR and I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

