In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Hi, everyone!

Today I’m sharing my thoughts about a crime novel “In A Dark, Dark Wood,” which is written by Ruth Ware. This book has been sitting patiently on my bookshelf for a while until I finally decided to read it, and I’m glad I did.

The story’s about a writer, Nora, who’s pleased with her lonely lifestyle. One day she receives an invitationย to her old friend’s, Clare’s, hen party. She’s surprised because she hadn’t been in touch with her for ten years. The hen party is held in a weird-looking remote cottage. Nora sees it as an opportunity to get back in touch with her former best friend, but soon enough she discovers that Clare had invited her to make a confession. The weekend in a cottage reveals loads of untold secrets and dark lies. The innocent hen party turns into a horrible disaster.

I’m pretty sure that this book is one of the best of crime novels that I have encountered. There were so many plot twists that I found myself constantly holding my breath as I read this book. It was just so intense. The author really knew how to make a scene and how to work out a solution for every situation. There weren’t any odd or unclarified places in the book, which I find really hard to find in a book these days.

I enjoyed the way the author was describing the main character’s thoughts. They were natural and written in a laid-back style, which I really liked. The setting of the book was perfect and really unique. The forest setting added a twist of creepiness and made the events even more unexpectable. The characters were well-chosen, and they fitted the story.

The ending was really unexpectable for me. There were so many theories in my head about the way this book would end, but true ending never occurred to me. I liked that the author revealed some of the character’s future plans in life and that there were still some unanswered questions at the end for readers to think about after finishing the book. This novel kept me suspended until I finished it, and it was a real page-turner. I would recommend this book to a person who enjoys suspense, mysteries, and creepiness.

I might not reach for a crime novel so soon after reading this book because it messed up my head pretty badly. The next book review is probably about something a bit less intense. Please leave your thoughts about the book or the review – I’m always glad to read your feedback

One thought on “In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Leave a Reply

