Paper Towns by John Green

Hi, everyone!

I know that this book has been probably reviewed millions of times, but I still wanted to share my opinion about it. I had this book lying around since I had watched the movie of it. This time I had already seen the movie prior reading the book. Mostly I prefer to read a book before watching the movie. Then I was reading the last book, (In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware) I had already decided to read “The Paper Towns” after that. So I did as I planned and I didn’t regret my decision.

“The Paper Towns” is written by one of the most famous young adults’ writers, John Green. Its genre is listed as young adults and mystery. The story is about Quentin, an average teenager with his own dreams and plans. He thinks that every person gets to have a miracle, and he’s sure that his miracle is Margo Roth Spiegelman. A girl who desires to live a life outside of the box – always in search of new adventures. Quentin, or Q as his friends call him, is mesmerized by her. She’s his neighbor. Before Q and Margo lost touch with each other, they were friends as kids. One evening Margo appears in Q’s window and calls him to join him on an all-night road trip of revenge, which Q can’t bring himself to ditch out of. In mysterious reasons, after the adventurous night, Margo disappears, leaving a trail of clues for Q to follow. Q takes up the task to find Margo with help from his friends. As he investigates he also discovers the true identity of Margo Roth Spiegelman.

It came as a surprise to me that I found this book so addicting. I wasn’t expecting to like this book so much as I did. I discovered that the metaphors, that author used in the book a lot, were the main reason why I enjoyed this book so much. I found myself wondering about them and the truth behind them. I also liked how the author described each character in the book. Each character had some weird side to them and the personalities that were presented in the book, I found were really unique.

“Maybe the strings break, or maybe our ships sink, or maybe we’re grass — our roots so interdependent that no one is dead as long as someone is still alive. We don’t suffer from a shortage of metaphors, is what I mean. But you have to be careful which metaphor you choose, because it matters.”

Another nuance that got me hooked was the tone that author was using to describe the events that happened. It was almost kind of bizarre, and it’s hard to describe, but it worked really well in the book. It made the book so much more enjoyable to read.

It was loads of fun to see how Q struggled to find a solution in every clue he found. It also got me thinking as well. The movie and the book, fortunately, weren’t connected as tightly as I thought that they would be. The book’s plot didn’t match the film’s plot. I can’t say that the book was better than the movie because I found that both were great in their own way. I might have preferred film’s end solution though.

After all, I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I adored characters, setting, metaphors and all the uniqueness and weirdness within the book. I would recommend it to a person who likes to tangle his head with mysteries and metaphors.

 

Leave a Reply

