Persuasion by Jane Austen

Hi, everyone!

I hope that you’re enjoying your Tuesday. Today, I have decided to write a review about “Persuasion.” It’s written by Jane Austen, one of the world’s most acknowledged female authors in the history. The book is listed as a classical literature.

The story of the book revolves around the romantic relationship between Anne Elliot and Fredrick Wentworth. Anne got engaged to Wentworth but broke the commitment, because of her dear friend, Lady Russell, had persuaded her. She claimed that Wentworth isn’t worthy of her. After breaking the engagement, Anne deeply regrets her decision. After a while, Wentworth returns as a successful captain and discovers that Anne’s family is having a financial crisis. The tension is building up to a leading question: Will Anne and Wentworth reunite again?

β€œMen have had every advantage of us in telling their own story. Education has been theirs in so much higher a degree; the pen has been in their hands. I will not allow books to prove anything.”

I must admit at first I, got confused about the book’s concept as I haven’t read a classic novel for a while. After reading for a while, I managed to get over the confusion and adjust to the language. I won’t lie, this book was challenging for me to read but I love challenges. I enjoyed the pace of this book, the story wasn’t rushed, and it wasn’t too slow either. In my opinion, there were way too many characters. I often got confused with all the names that were involved in the story, and some of them weren’t even necessary in the story. Another thing that I found a bit confusing was that the author changed the point of views without mentioning. It was hard to understand who’s point of view is author currently talking about.

Anyway, I guess that’s all that I’ve got to say about this book. It was a good read for a beach vacation. I loved my Wordsworth edition of this book, as the book was very light, thin, and super travel-friendly. It was a nice change to read something historical and different.

 

Leave a Reply

