Still Missing by Chevy Stevens

Hi, everyone!

I hope that you’re having a great weekend. So as you can already tell, I’ve got another book review for you. This time I chose to read a book called “Still Missing” by an author Chevy Stevens. This pick was kind of random. There was this time I was into watching crime shows — like Criminal Minds, and I thought that this novel would have a similar setting as the show.

The book’s genre is a crime thriller. The story is about a thirty-two years old woman, Annie O’Sullivan, who gets abducted. She gets abducted while trying to sell a house to a sudden customer at the end of her workday. Annie describes her journey through a conversation with her shrink. She tells her in details about her abduction, the year she spent with the abductor and the shocking events that occur after her return.

I hate them for not being in pain like me, hate them for being able to enjoy themselves. Hate myself for feeling that way.

First of all, I have to get this out — the plot twists! This book was a real emotional rollercoaster! There were nights that I couldn’t fall asleep because of this novel. The author kept the events running, and I never got bored or felt that the context starts to repeat itself.

The book kicked off real fast. I couldn’t even believe that the abduction took place so fastly. The book was definitely fast-paced, but at the same time, it was high in details as well. I enjoyed that the author didn’t stomp around the events for too long, as it can sometimes get tedious to read the same situation for eternity.

I liked the unique way the author had decided to deliver the readers the story. I think that the idea to do it by telling the story to another person, in which case it was the shrink, felt as if the main character was telling the story straight to the readers. I also enjoyed how Annie, as she was telling the story to the shrink, added these weird remarks about the shrink’s appearance, or made assomptions about her life.

The characters were well-chosen, and fitted the plot perfectly. I liked every character, and I loved how the author made an actual effort to feature so much details in the book about each individual character. Learning about abductor’s story was fascinating — almost as fascinating as learning about Annie’s story. Even though there were some parts of the abductor’s story left unanswered, but at the same time it provided readers with some thinking material.

The ending was one of the most unexpected of all the endings that I have ever read, and I wouldn’t have ever predicted it. I was shocked how the author managed to keep the intensity of the events so high during the whole book. I was just simply amazed. If I had to point out something negative about the book then in my opinion the ending could have been a bit slower, because at one point it was really hard to keep up with all the new information that flowed in at the same time.

So as I mentioned at the beginning the book’s story was utterly haunting. There are not a lot of books that keep me up at night, so this book might not be suitable for younger readers. The novel contains strong language, violence, and sexual content — so be avare of it if you’re considering reading this book! But I would recommend this book for people, who love intense criminal stories.

After all, I have to say that this book is probably one of the best (if not the best) crime thriller that I have ever read in my life. I think that the book is really underrated, and the author should have more recognision for it, because the novel was just simply brilliant!

2 thoughts on “Still Missing by Chevy Stevens

Leave a Reply

