Looking for Alaska by John Green

Hi, everyone!

Finally, I managed to read this book. It’s been on my bookshelf for over two years— I have no clue why I hadn’t read it earlier. Just sometimes the market has so many wonderful books, and there’s always so little time to read them all. Anyway, this is my last John Green book on TBR list. Even though I’m considering to reread “The Fault in Our Stars.”

Today’s review is on the book called “Looking For Alaska,” and it’s written by the all-beloved author, John Green. The novel’s genre is young adult fiction.

The story’s about Miles Halter (aka Pudge), who moves to Alabama for his junior year in Culver Creek Preparatory High School. Pudge is obsessed with last words, as if what people say right before they pass away. His roommate, Chip (aka The Colonel), introduces him to his friend Alaska, who he happens to like immediately. He also meets Takumi, who’s Colonel’s other friend. During the study year, Pudge starts falling in love with Alaska, who’s constant mood swings and weird acts leave him often clueless and unsettled. Pudge and his friends face loads of adventures, obstacles, and funny moments together as the school year progresses. But a terrible accident occurs, which leaves them with tons of unanswered questions and sorrow.

“So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

I was fascinated by this book already at the beginning. I liked the concept of remembering last words, it was a really unique trait to attach the main character with. John Green has always been a master of nailing the characters and making each one of them stand out. The plot of the book was well-constructed — the events weren’t rushed or messy. I enjoyed the way the novel’s chapters were divided by count down of the days — it made the book even more special. I also liked that the book was divided into two separate parts — if you wanted, you could simply compare the changes in characters.

In the end, I have to say that this book took me completely by surprise. I really enjoyed reading it, and I never got bored during the story. The plot was truly engaging and interesting. I would recommend this book to someone, who’s looking for something different to read. It’s probably my favorite John Green’s book that I had ever read. I really think that the book was incredible, and the story was truly amazing. I hope that the book will be adapted shortly into a movie, as it would be definitely interesting to see it on the big screens.

 

6 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska by John Green

  1. John Green went to high school with one of my former managers, and I learned a lot of unsavory things about him through that manager, so maybe I’ve had my view of him tainted.

    I’ve read several of John Green’s books, and I’ve never found them engaging or interesting. They all cover the same material, just with different characters in the main roles. I was bored to tears with “Looking for Alaska,” and finished it just because I had friends egging me on that this was “one of the best books they’ve ever read!” I could barely get through it because it wasn’t entertaining to me. The characters were utterly forgettable, and about as stereotypical as you could get, which was sorely disappointing to me. You’ve got the outsider and the manic pixie dream girl and company.

    Maybe I’m just jaded.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I know! It’s interesting to read someone who enjoyed the book. After my friends heard my opinion on it, they went back and reread it and agreed with me. I guess I hang around in different circles, but almost nobody I know enjoys Green’s books.

        I’m sorry if it came across too harsh, as that wasn’t how I meant it!

        Like

      2. Don’t worry, it’s fine. It’s really weird how people’s opinions can change. In my book reviews, I write my honest opinion, and how I feel about the book at the exact moment.

        Like

  2. I agree with Lauren wholeheartedly! The ‘manic pixie dream girl’ characters really do annoy me. Btw, if you’re a model yourself, who are your favorite (super)models?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We all have different perspectives. You might be right in some way, but I still deeply enjoyed this book, and I won’t change my opinion about it. I’m actually really glad that you asked me that! I have tons of them, but my all the time favorites are Gigi Hadid, Alexandria Morgan, Romee Strijd and Josephine Skriver.

      Like

Leave a Reply

